Take the PAIN out of math part 1

Why can’t I do math?

Aaron Horak
3 min readJun 17, 2023

If you’ve struggled with math, you’ve probably been told before that you can do math. You just haven’t had the right teacher! If you’ve been told that, I kind of agree. Of course your learning style, your age, your curiosity are all factors as well.

My goal is to help you collect all the math tools you need, to make it easy, painless, and possibly (gasp!) a little fun!

If you think that you “can’t math”, then we need to settle that question outright! Why should you waste your time on something you can’t do? So let’s settle this.

SURPRISE TEST!

Question 1: I have a number. If I add 5 to that number, I get 12. Take your time.

What number + 5=12? No hurry.

Hint: You got two numbers, they add to give 12. One of them is 5. What’s the other?

END OF TEST!

Sorry I had to do that to you. But if you really, really want to succeed in math, you have to start believing in yourself a little bit.

Did you pass the test? Of course you did! Because if you haven’t figured it out yet, then you’re gonna keep working til you do. Stubbornness is one of the most important tools in math! When you are done, celebrate! Always encourage yourself and your skills will grow faster and faster!

I’ve been planning to start this for a while, but it wasn’t til this morning that a couple thing came…

--

--

Aaron Horak

Hello! I have many interests, including science fiction, real science, writing, and math. I hope to contribute much here. I have a BS and MS in mathematics.